A Rich History

After more than a century, she still praises the Lord.

Approximately half of the organ’s current pipework and portions of the current mechanism date to the original instrument erected in 1909.


In 1978 the current organ console, brand new at the time, was put into service, replacing the original early 20th-century console. Additional pipework was added to enhance the organ’s ability to effectively lead congregational singing and to provide expanded resources to support the playing of other service music, such as preludes, offertories, and postludes.


The console, pipes and additional mechanism was provided by the Moller Organ Company of Hagerstown, Maryland, and the work was done by Harold Currier of Spokane, Washington. The sanctuary chancel at our Seventh and Wallace location was modified significantly by church members to create greater flexibility for worship in all its forms.


Several years of planning in the late 1980s/early 90s resulted in our congregation’s decision to relocate from its downtown location at Seventh and Wallace to the northwest part of Coeur d’Alene. Increasing concerns about our previous facility’s condition, accessibility for the disabled and aged, as well as opportunities for expanded ministry resulted in the decision to build a new church facility. The northwest part of Coeur d’Alene was selected because it was projected to be an area of sustained growth of new housing stock and the resulting influx of a growing population. A regional programmatic church was envisioned.


Early on, plans were made to incorporate our pipe organ into the new facility’s design. On the first Sunday in October 1994 (World Communion Sunday), the congregation celebrated worship in the downtown location for the last time. Under the direction of Meadway and Stettner Pipe Organs of western Washington, the pipe organ was dismantled, with the assistance of church members and friends, and put into storage.


The congregation worshiped in the school auditorium at the (then) brand new Lake City High School during construction of our new building. It was a joyful experience to observe the construction progress weekly as we attended worship services across the street! Our organ was re-installed in the Celebration Hall of our new facility in the midst of the building’s construction and was joyfully put into service as we worshiped for the first time in our new location on the first Sunday of March 1995.







1470 W. Hanley Ave.

Coeur d'Alene, ID 83815




Stay connected  to what's happening at CUMC.

email the office to make sure you receive our weekly newsletters.

  • Grey Facebook Icon

© 2020 CUMC